Tags

Task 19: Look at the following mini-dialogues below and decide the time reference or use of the underlined examples of the present progressive.

A: How about going to a movie this evening?

B: I can’t. I’m meeting Judy for a drink. – future

 

A: Where’s Tony?

B: I don’t know where he’s got to.

A: He’s always running late. – complaining

 

A: It was late at night and dark and I was on myway back to the hotel. Suddenly, I find I’m walking down the street all on my own and I can hear the sound of footsteps… – Past

Task 20: What is the problem with the following examples?

  1. He’s having a brother and a sister. – have is a stative verb and describes a state and not an action.  
  2. I’m liking this icecream. – This is acceptable slang, however grammatically ‘incorrect’ as like is a stative verb and describes a state and not an action.  
  3. What are you thinking of your new job? – same explanation as above. 
  4. This sauce is lacking salt. – same explanation as above. 
