Tags

,

image
Working out every day is exhausting.

Even though it doesn’t sound much to ‘only’ do between 3-4 hours a day, for someone who never exercises, it’s A LOT! I mentioned the other day that I had done more exercise in the last 2 weeks than in the last 3 year. They laughed, thinking I was exaggerating. I wasn’t.

My day usually starts off with an hour of yoga at 7am. The class normally has between 3-5 people, though on Monday it can go up to 8 or 9 as people start their week with good intentions. It’s hard to get up so early. I’m definitely a night owl. I try and do yoga at least 3 times a week. I know it’s good for me to stretch my poor abused muscles before they go through another round of torture training. I’m not sure if the yoga here is considered ‘hot yoga’, but I’m usually a puddle of sweat afterwards.

After that, I’ll head back to the hotel room. If it’s a Monday, Wednesday or Friday, I’ll enjoy a cup of coffee and a few digestives, before my class at 10am. On Tuesdays and Thursdays the class is at 9, so I wait until after it’s finished to have something to eat. After the class finishes, on Tuesdays and Thursdays I’ll grab a protein shake and maybe chill out at the pool for a bit before having lunch (instant noodles in my hotel room) and then a nap. In the afternoon I’ll hit the gym for some cardio, then join the boxercise class at 4pm. After that I’m done with the fitness for the day. I’ll have a shower, chill out for a bit, then at about 7:30pm, wander down to a restaurant and grab something nutritious to eat.

Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays are similar, but no protein shake and the last class of the day (my favourite, spin class) is at 6:15pm. Sometimes things don’t go to plan. The other day I finished my morning class, had a shower and then fell asleep for over 5 hours. As I said, it’s exhausting.

I thought that there would be more pressure to work out, but it’s very independent. You can join a class or skip it, you can hit the gym or not, there’s no one checking up on you to make sure you work out as much as possible. I think it’s a good thing. You have to create your own motivation, which is strong because you’re paying a lot of money to be here, but also there’s the time limit. You only have so long here, so you should make the most of it. However building the motivation to workout will hopefully follow you back to your ‘real life’ and help you maintain and build on the fitness you gained at the camp.
image

The accommodation is really nice, and I’m on the ground level right next to the pool. At first I was a little annoyed to be on the ground floor, but it’s actually perfect to be so close to the pool and not to have to climb stairs after a hard workout! There is a small ‘balcony’ outside, though on the ground floor I’m not sure what you should call it. I use it to dry my clothes after I wash them every night. Unfortunately there is no washing machine we can use, although you can give them to people to clean and dry. But it gets expensive after a while, and it’s just easier to spend 10 minutes each day washing and hanging the clothes up.

In addition to the protein shakes, I also take four soluble fibre tablets and one Berocca tablet dissolved in water per day. I also make liberal use of Tiger Balm on my sore muscles each day. Remember not to get that stuff anywhere near your face – it burns!

Also, I just want to mention that while you workout a lot, you do have a lot of downtime. The resort has a small bookshelf, and decent WiFi. You can lounge at the pool or take a nap. But you will also have a lot of free time. Think of a project you want to work on and use the time to do it. I’m using the time to catch up on my favourite podcasts, YouTube channels, as well as learning Spanish and writing a few blog posts.

One thing I want to mention is injuries. I hurt my lower back in the second week, and it’s given me some grief ever since. I’m lucky to have a good friend who is an Occupational Therapist in Australia, and she advised me to lay on my front resting on my forearms to give my lower back a gentle stretch. She also suggested I go for an injury massage and take an anti inflammatory pill. The quality of massages vary along the street, and so far the most useful one is called ‘Heart and Bao’ about half way down. There’s only one lady and she uses East Asian techniques more that the traditional Thai Massage which is better for injuries in my opinion. It hurts like a bitch though. I prefer just going for the traditional Thai massages, but they don’t really help if you have an injury.
image

I also want to mention that many of our trainers suffered injuries of some kind while I was there, so no matter how carefully you train, you can always injure yourself, especially as you get older. For this reason, even though it might be tempting to book for a longer period straight up to reduce your costs, I might recommend booking for a shorter period at first, then extending your stay. On the flip side, if you’re like me, booking for longer has the benefit that you are now financially committed and can’t just quit, which I have been tempted to do several times.

