Tags

,

It really is a shoppers paradise. Even I was tempted to buy some clothing! After coming from the other cities in Italy, I was shocked to find a more ‘European’/less ‘Italian’ atmosphere, and that the clothing stores and boutiques are actually affordable (and not just targeted at rich tourists from Asia, as Venice and Florence seem to be). Milan was made more special by the fact that I was able to meet up with a friend I had made in Chiang-Mai (Thailand).

the streets of Milan - practically empty on a Sunday

the streets of Milan – practically empty on a Sunday

While far from a ‘pretty’ city, Milan was practical, had a great transport system (metro), and it contained some hidden gems, such as the Cimitero Monumentale (“Monumental Cemetery”), which is a must visit if you are in the city. Have a look at some of the photos of tombs I took there below.

While some took their inspiration from such architectural wonders as the Sydney Opera House*

While some took their inspiration from such architectural wonders as the Sydney Opera House*

Others built what looked like entire churches to house their remains.

Others built what looked like entire churches to house their remains.

I actually have no idea what this is... anyone here read Latin?

I actually have no idea what this is… anyone here read Latin?

I ended up leaving a day earlier than planned (due to the hostel kicking me out for unexpected maintenance), but this is why it’s good not to have too many plans. Roll with the punches, go with the flow and all that jazz. Well, actually I usually hate having my plans change, but to tell the truth, I was kind of over Italy by that point. Before I visited, I had this idea that I would go over for a year or so and live there. Now? Probably not. Maybe it was because I was just travelling through, but I guess my expectations for Italy were too high, and I ended up not falling in love with the country.

While I’m not sure I would go back (although I might, to visit the south), I would highly recommend it to my friends. Italy is a must see, even if only to disillusion you of your gelato and pizza filled daydreams. OK, I lied… I just want all the gelato and pizza to myself!!

*I do realise that these tombs were built before the Sydney Opera House. Please excuse the bad joke 😀

