I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve had some pretty amazing birthdays over the years. When I was little, I was slightly obsessed by the story of Humpty Dumpty. I would demand that my mother make me a Humpty-theme cake every year. Basically a cake that looked like a brick wall with a little egg in costume on top of it. I think mum even made little top hats for the eggs.

One year I decided to be a bit different and asked for a green caterpillar cake.  I had my party at our local town swimming pool pretty much every year I lived in Kununurra. Mainly because my birthday is in November and it’s about 45 degrees Celsius outside. Also because it meant that mum and dad would hire the big floating bouncy castle for us (and who wouldn’t like a big floating bouncy castle).

For my 18th birthday, I celebrated with two friends in Northern Italy, and I made them eat pizza every night for an entire week. After that I had some pretty cool birthdays at uni, where my friends would surprise me by decorating the whole apartment and baking me a cake before I woke up (kind of easy because at uni I rarely got up before 11am).

bday

My housemates ‘streamered’ the doorway to my room…

One of my favorites was having my 21st out on Rottnest Island with only 2 of my friends because my birthday happens to fall in the the Uni exam study week. My two girlfriends and I explored the island, found and sunbathed on deserted beaches and at night found awesome people at the bar to teach us drinking games and help us forget the fact that exams were just a week away.

rottnest

a pier on Rottnest Island – truly one of the most beautiful islands in the world

My 24th birthday though, the one just gone, has to be one of my favourites. You see, it signifies the start of my around the world trip, although I’m not really sure if you can call it that. It’s more like my ‘everywhere’ trip, since I’m not setting out to go around the world, merely travel everywhere in it. It’s like the best birthday present ever!

