Hi Everyone 🙂

31/01/08

Thanks to all those people who wrote.. It’s nice to feel loved! Got into contact with Elana, so hopefully it’ll be all good and I’ll go up to Scotland on Sunday night and come back Wednesday morning. Anyone go good ideas what to do in Edinburgh? I went to Wales yesterday. Hockey again 🙂 It was a bit of a mission, 2 and 1/2 hours each way, but it was fun, especially on the way back because everyone was drinking and singing and generally having a laugh. Just taking it easy today. Maggie had to go to a tutorial this morning and then we are going for Pizza and a movie – Enchanted – afterwards. Just also wanted to say to Marion that the forward you sent me was horrible, but I still had a laugh. Now that’s what I call black humour! Well that’s it for today, see you in February!

12/2/08

Wow! How fast does time fly! I can’t believe I haven’t written in so long! So many things have happened since then! Last Sunday – the 3rd I think – I drove up to Edinburgh, (Scotland) and spent a couple of days there with my friend Elana. It was a little surreal because In the house where she was staying, it was full of Australians, but when you went into a shop, they were obviously Scottish. It’s also quite strange to think of England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales as part of the “UK”. It’s a little like the EU, but because it’s been around much longer, the its got this really patriotic feel about it. It’s still very confusing to think of Wales as a separate country to England. I used to think it was sort of like a region of England. It’s not easy to get your head around it. Then again, I think a lot of people think New Zealand is part of Australia. Others don’t believe me when I tell them that yes, Tasmania does actually exist.

Had a great time in Edinburgh. If you’re ever up this way, definitely go and check it out, it’s absolutely beautiful. I came down again on Tuesday night and made Maggie pick me up at 5:45 in the morning from the bus stop 🙂 On Wednesday we went to see Sweeney Todd, a really good musical if you don’t mind all the blood. Johnny Depp is as always, amazing. On Thursday we went to the ‘Traffid Centre’. It’s this HUGE shopping centre. We spent a whole afternoon there, window shopping, and still didn’t see all of it. Then we went to visit Maggie’s parents again, but Maggie had Hockey practice (I can tell you’re all shocked, who knew she liked hockey?) so we had to go back to uni.

On Saturday we drove down to Bath, an old Roman town a bit over 2 hours away. It’s where Maggie served part of her Military career, so she knew some people there. We stayed there Saturday night, and went sightseeing on Sunday. It was a really good trip, and I had a great time. If you’re ever down that way, I definitely recommend it. It was a bit sad we couldn’t go see Stonehenge, which is an hours drive from Bath, but we ran out of time and energy, as we had to drive back to Keele (Maggie’s uni) as she had uni on Monday.

For Valentines Day we are going on an Adventure Ropes Course. Basically you have to manage from one tree to another, without falling off. I’m sure my fear of heights will be a major advantage :). Taking bets now who will win. After that we’re going out to a Thai Restaurant which will be like my goodbye dinner as well I suppose 😦 I leave Keele on Monday, and leave England on the 20th. Hopefully I should arrive on the 22nd. Uni starts on the 25th, and they’ve signed me up for 8:30 all day no breaks until 16:30 because it wouldn’t let me enrol myself. I really hope everyone is feeling lots of sympathy for me right now! 🙂

This will be my last Diary entry for this trip, I hope you enjoyed them, and if you feel you can’t live without them, feel free to send me on another holiday. You know I’ll do (just about) anything for you guys 🙂

Sarah

